Blog Personality

June Personality…

Lately I’ve been meeting awesome and amazing people, and it makes me excited. Why? I learn from them and deposit something too. So I’ve been thinking who’s going to be our very first Blog Personality and then I happened to run into one of such great minds by name Austin Okoronkwo and I thought to myself what better way to start this new series than with someone as this. I decided to strike a conversation-led-interview with him, and this is what he had to say. Enjoy…

image

Can we know you?

Ok my name is Okoronkwo Augustine J.
A native of Arochukwu LGA, Abia State.
A graduate in Industrial Physics (BSC) from Abia State University, Uturu. Born on the 28th of August. I enjoy reading and writing.

When I saw you mount the podium during SAED seminar, I was amazed, didn’t know you give motivational speeches. Outside giving talks what else do you spend your time doing?

Laughs. Thank you. Well, many things. Outside being a Corp member I enjoy reading and writing. I engage in undertaking projects that are geared towards developing people and adding positive mindset to them. I equally do ministry work, prayer session, go for missions and outreaches, I do teach on leadership development/mentoring. I’m currently running a course on HSE with NOVELLE.

Wow, that’s a lot. What inspires you to do what you do?

I have always had this strong desire to help others become their best and thus a part of their success story. I am driven by the passion to help people particularly the young and the youth to discover their purpose in life and actualize their destiny.
I love seeing people succeed and doing so in their core area of life
Thus my drive to daily add value to people’s lives and making each day count. I strongly believe that anyone can achieve greatness only if they can be told so and shown how and helping them achieve it.

image

I totally agree with you on this. I think everyone should live a life full of impact.

Yes, exactly!

I know as a leader there’s someone who has had a tremendous impact on you, Maybe someone who has been a mentor to you, who’s this person; why and how did this person impact your life?

Wow!
This one would be a very long list you know.

Ok, a particular name maybe? There has to be a significant person or persons?

Many persons have played significant roles to get me to this point of my life; ranging from my parents so I really do not know where to start the list from.
But at my teenage age the likes of Pst. Soky Herbert, Dr. B. G. Quakers and Pst. Martins Uzodinma created in me a good foundation for achieving success. Dr. Myles Munroe and John Maxwell impact me a lot via their books. I’m currently under the mentoring of Apostle Benjamin C. Dike, Pst. I. J. Lawson, Pst. (Mrs) Songo Oledibe and my mother inclusive Mrs. Agnes Okoronkwo. She has always been a pillar. Well mothers just have this way of being supportive. God bless her, and all mothers.

image

Mothers are more than supportive, they are angels. I look forward to being one. I’m aware of a program coming up soon, can you enlighten us more?

Ok.
I will be in the NYSC Orientation Camp at Nonwa Gbam Tai, Rivers State on Tuesday, 21st June to address the Corp Members on the caption: KEYS TO SOCIETAL RELEVANCE. I believe that we as youths of this great Nation Nigeria have been greatly deceived in time past, we have been told storieswhich we believed were true but later discovered them to be nothing but lies. It is time we know what it takes to change ourselves thus change our world. We all possess what it takes to make a difference in life. A discovery and development of such traits births greatness.
It is time we start looking more inward to find out what we are internally blessed with than hoping for miraculous breakthroughs that comes once in a life time. So I am going to help the youths know what a great future they can have tomorrow if they can start from now and today to create it.

image

As a young leader what mistakes have you witnessed leaders making more frequently? Like a behavior or trait you’ve seen derail more leaders’ career? Something you’d want to curb?

First leadership is dynamic thus it’s mechanism and approach.

But one thing remains true, all true leadership display same kind of traits although sometimes with little differences. The greatest wrong in leadership is for one leader to assume that the other didn’t do well so he is coming to improve on that which remains unchanged without first considering first the led and second the prevailing circumstances of such season. Every leadership has it own peculiar challenges and thus requires a special approach to address such based on the personality of the leader per time. To achieve a strong productive leadership is to first understand the problem facing the leadership.
Next understand the people been led and consider the best approach to address such situation and then be humble enough to consult the people and all stakeholders widely so you can know how best to effect changes. More so, no matter how zealous a leader in a new sphere of leadership may be passionate to effect changes such fellow must learn to be patience and gradually implement such change agenda or else you will instead of solving problems and resolving issues you will end up creating more. Interest varies and so does material resources.

Before we draw the curtains, As a young leader and motivational speaker a lot of people mostly your peers would be awed at such a level you’ve reached, so what are a few resources you would recommend to someone looking to gain insight into becoming a leader?

Based on what any one may be interested in or hope to achieve, One must be very studious and willing to learn daily. “The world is our university, everyone will meet on daily basis is our teacher so we must ensure we go to class every morning we wake up”. In other words, we must learn to seek knowledge daily because we can’t grow or develop beyond our level of knowledge or information we possess. Thus every reader is a leader, more so get a mentor. Undertake trainings and ask questions. Never assume you know even though you do there are people who know more than you do but still want to know more. He that ask questions will be a fool for 5minutes but he who never ask questions will be a fool forever. An open book is an open opportunity. A closed book is a closed destiny. Hmmm there’s so much to say but I’d leave it as this….

image

Very true, the world is indeed a university. Thanks Mr. Austin it’s been an insightful episode I look forward to doing this again.

It’s an honour and privilege thanks.

You can follow Mr. Austin on facebook
https://m.facebook.com/public/Augustine-Okoronkwo

Leave a Reply

