Life's Extras

Extroverted Introvertย 

August 27, 2016 | Personal Notes. 


Oh well, if there’s any word like that, if not I just formed it ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

It’s a beautiful cool saturday morning on this side of Africa, struggling to get out of bed with this annoying tummy ache that came as a result of a drinking competition (please don’t ask me for details) as I read something about being an extrovert and introvert and found myself in it. I decided to talk more about it. 

As an extrovert, I love meeting with people and at the same time I don’t?! Ermm is that even possible, Yup Yup!!! Sometimes I just need my space, I think we all do. So I’m going to share my experience as an “extroverted introvert” and hopefully someone can relate.

1. Adventurous or not; 

Thing is sometimes we get so excited about going to a particular place, especially somewhere we’ve dreamed about for so long, the D-day finally arrives and we feel like we’ve used up all the energy for the “waka” in dreaming and anticipating. 

2. We talk when we want to, and when we don’t want to talk, we don’t!!! 

Ok, thing is we love being around people doesn’t mean we’d always wanna talk, because talking requires a lot of effort just seeing our circles alone has covered up for the “many talkings”. Sometimes we just wanna be in our heads and observe so it’s better you get up in our head and read out the words instead of allowing us do the talking ๐Ÿ˜.

3. We love the groupies but prefer individual interactions. 

Trust me, groupies are fun; group hangouts, group selfies but individual talks are better, we get to know each person in the group differently. It helps us connect more. Plus if you’re bringing extra unknown friends, err can we get some minutes notice so we can have a mind reschedule, not that we can’t switch off and on in seconds, but then a notice won’t be bad, right? 

4. Bonding is key

We believe so much in bonding, we can easily call your uncle, granpa, distant niece etc; it’s part of who we are and what we do, lol, but don’t make it look like it’s our job. Sometimes we need to echarge  

5. We often shuffle between coming out of our shelves and crawling back in. 

We like to be known, you might call it notice-me, oh well, yes, who doesn’t?! We love to make our presence known, to dominate the environment, to speak out in public, to lead the team,  but sometimes we’re not just into that stuff and then we wonder why people wanna get noticed, ironic?

6. It takes bended knees to get us out, but in the end it’s worth every pain.

I remember how someone told me it took him 4 weeks to see me, I cried in my heart, ๐Ÿ˜ข it’s not that bad. To us every “waka” must be worth it. We’re in our comfort zone thinking ‘Is this place going to give me my kind of fun?’ ‘Can’t waste 15mins makeup in vain’ ‘Is there going to be a ride?’ If not, I think I’d just tuck myself in bed and explore with Chris Nolan…. And later, we feel bad for not hanging out with our friends, we secretly beg for the fun pictures and call frequently to still be part of the groove ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

7. If we like you, we really really like you. We can be choosy as to who we hang out with, no offence. 

Like it’s not hard entering into a conversation with people but then when we want to do it often with you, trust me it’s more than just talking. Not everyone gets to us but the ones that do, stay. We can like all your pictures and try to support your hussle. So don’t misuse the time given ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜œ

8. We have acquitances everywhere, but then we have those stable friends we keep close. 

Due to how we are, we make acquitances everywhere we go, there’s the church pals, whatsapp group pals, pals from the movies, high school peeps, colleagues who we get along with, but our friends are our friends. We don’t trade them for nothing! 

I remember times when I’d wanna be left alone, and my colleagues come up and say things like “Are you OK? This one you’ve not come to my room?” And I’m like “Ehn OK, don’t worry I’d soon come and tick attendance”. Because of the numerous people we have around we tend to feel lonely, sometimes we get caught up in our heads, that’s just where we want to be… There’s a lot but then we won’t let you in totally. We’d give you what you want to be fed and leave you seeking for more… 

Are you an extrovert and introvert wondering how that’s possible, share your experience with us… 

#LifeOfAnExtrovertedIntrovert

@amarachukukere 

Leave a Reply

