Healthy Living

Hair Transition 

February 12, 2017 | Healthy Hair. 

This is really awkward and strange. I’m a fan of long silky hair so being in this realm is totally weird, trust me. 

This challenge is something I never saw coming! My hair goal for 2017 is to reduce the amount of times I relax my hair from three times to two, but then I don’t know what came over me with the idea of transitioning. Maybe it’s the love for a longer length…. 

Well I’ve been doing so much research, a lot, like right now everything feels like it revolves round my hair! And guess what I’m going to do it! Hopefully, even though my hair is as stubborn as me, I’d give it a shot….. And yes, I’d be sharing my journey. 

During my research I realized that there are ways of drying out water from your hair instead of using hot air procedures (like using a T-shirt or allowing it to dry out itself) when transitioning. I also learnt from naturalgirlonabudget blog how to do a quick wash and conditioning when “the needed isn’t available” especially in preparation for a protective hairstyle. I tried it out this weekend and it came out great. Honestly, I was amazed because the requirements used (A black herbal soap, Honey, Coconut Oil, Wide tooth comb and Plastic cap) are products one can get on the go (remember the goal is to get a good result on a good budget 😉).

Low budget products

According to her, she couldn’t get her hands on oil at that moment, but I can so I spiced up mine with coconut oil. Believe me, it was good! This is how it went. 

Step 1

Get your warm water ready and begin the wash. Wash thoroughly with the black soap especially if you’re a lover of leave-in-conditioner. Wash till clean. 

Step 2

Rinse your hair thoroughly. You’d feel this clean touch after the rinse. Pat medium dry with a cotton cloth. Well, I didn’t dry the water totally out, left it a bit damp in order to allow the conditioning products sink in. 

Step 3

Mix your honey with coconut oil and apply on your hair. Massage very well, concentrate on the edges and tips.

Step 4

Once you’re done, cover with a plastic bag and towel and leave for some minutes. I used two cloths to fasten the hold of the plastic bag on my head and left it for 45mins for a good deep conditioning. Trust me, I was expecting my hair to speak to me, like, Hey Miss, thanks for this! Well, it did in step 5

Step 5

After the required satisfied time, rinse properly and pat well till the water is gone and the hair is moist. Apply leave-in-conditioner and oils(coconut oil, Shea butter). You can blow dry if you wish, but I decided not to. Instead after applying the conditioner and oils, I opened it to dry on its own. 

……tada! After the wash.

The feel and smell the next day was great! Even the hairstylist confirmed it. I decided to wear a protective hairstyle as a way of growing out more natural hair strands….. 
If you’re looking for a way to care for your hair, this is surely one way to adopt. You can try this out and share your experience. 
Cheers

@amarachukukere 

Leave a Reply

