Devotionals

Set Goals

May 31, 2017 | A Devotion.

  

Leading Scripture: “Write the vision and make it plain.” Habakkuk 2:3

On this rainy morning, alone with myself 😁 I picked up my daily devotional and was amazed at how timely the topic is – ‘Set Goals For Your Life’. It’s not as though I don’t do this but the sincerity of the message, ministered deep into my soul, owing to the fact that my current situation needs me to be really sincere and real with myself, if I really want to grow and develop. 

Only when you’re clear about your personal goals, can you measure your personal growth – was the first sentence.

You see, I realized there has to be clarity before measurement. If you’re not clear about what you want how will you measure your progress. Let’s continue 

Here are eight proven principles that will help you to establish the right goals for your life:

  1. Begin with Prayer; otherwise the ladder you’re climbing may be leaning against a wrong wall. “Many are the plans of a man’s heart, but…..The Lord’s purpose…..prevails” – (Proverbs 19:21 NIV). 
  2. Think on paper. God told Habakkuk, “Write the vision and make it plain.” Writing your goals down gives them a sense of permanency, plus it energizes you. 
  3. Set deadlines. “The vision is yet for an appointed time.” – (Habakkuk 2:3 NKJV). Without a definite beginning and ending, it’s easy to procrastinate and get nowhere. 
  4. List the steps you need to take. Then keep the list before you at all times, it will show you the path to follow. 
  5. Prioritize the steps in order of importance. What do you need first? What can you do later? An organized plan is always better than trying to carry stuff around in your head.
  6. Take action – NOW. “Be very careful, then, how you live–not as unwise but wise, making the most of every opportunity” – (Ephesians 5:15-16 NIV). A mediocre plan that’s implemented always beats a brilliant plan that isn’t. 
  7. Do something each day to move you forward. For example, read systematically through the Bible in a year…. Call a specific number of clients every week…. Engage in physical activity everyday. 
  8. Have goals you’re willing to devote your life to. The Psalmist said, “Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom” – (Psalm 90:12 NIV). 

Source: The Word For Today Devotional. 

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Let’s Talk

I know it can be quite difficult. Looking at step 3. Whew! I actually set deadlines but sometimes fall into the procrastination trap, either I’m not feeling fully motivated to carry out that task or I’m constrained. And I end up not doing it at all. I had to sincerely ask God for help and by the leading of the Holy Spirit ,I started taking tiny little consistent steps! And gradually I came out of that trap, lol! 

Also, prioritizing our steps is very vital, this helps us to the the necessary things right. Some decisions or plans are not vital at a particular point in time. Know the timing for each.


Commit your time to seeing the best out of you. 


Truth is the place of intercession can never go wrong when it comes to our plans. I make plans everyday, some don’t work out immediately but do later, others take effect quickly. Above all, one prayer I do say is “Lord, help me not to fall apart when my plans don’t actualize immediately, help me to stick to your plan.” We all need to take those plans to God. 

Heart2Heart

What other steps have you done to implement your plans? Can’t wait to here them… 

Best regards, 

Amara 💝

Leave a Reply

