GIVING GOD YOUR BEST

Mar 02, 2018 | Faith Factor

I remember in my Uni days, I was technically in all units, ๐Ÿ˜… – Choir, publicity, press and media, prayer, dance group, communion, I even opted once to join business unit. Diligent right? ๐Ÿ˜‚. When we were told to submit a biodata for an alumni register, I was amazed at the amount of things I engaged myself with in school. Trust me I was distracted, because I’d definitely go for different service unit meetings everyday of the week, and the little time I had left was a struggle between book, politics and extras (like watching Africa Magic in the common room, strolling to June 12 for a fill of mishai, etc).

Leading Word –ย God shaped you for a purpose and he expects you to make the most of what you’ve been given. He doesn’t want you to worry about or covet abilities that you don’t have. Instead he wants you to focus on talents he has given you to use”. Rick Warrenย 

ย My Thoughts.ย 
A lot is being said about serving God, whether with your time, talent or/and money.ย 

Well, what does service mean to you? Is it a show of appreciation to God for His gift of salvation or is it a forceful show of commitment so it won’t be as if….? Is it done with a heart of love in all willingness and humility or grudgingly? One thing I’ve come to realize in my faith work is God doesn’t force anyone, or wants any commitment done grudgingly. In fact it’s better you’re seated there and attending regular worship service receiving the Word, than serving halfheartedly.

Now, when you’re a genuine service lover, how do you do it?

When does our service become “excess”?

According to Rick Warren – When you attempt to serve God in ways that you’re not shaped to serve, it feels like forcing a square peg into a round hole. It’s frustrating and produces limited results. It also wastes your time, talent, and energy.
The best use of your life is to serve God out of your shape (the gifts and abilities God has given you). To do this you must discover your shape, learn to accept and enjoy it, and then develop it to its fullest potential.

The Bible says, “Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do.” (Ephesians 5:17 NLT)

When we serve God out of the desire to be seen, when we engage in so many things beyond our capacity can take we end up breaking down, it’s like we’re giving and nothing is entering back. True service requires dedication and commitment ,and when we’re not focused on the right things we end up confusing them with the wrong.

To-do by Rick Warren ย 

– Don’t let another day go by. Start finding out and clarifying what God intends for you to be and do.

– Begin by assessing your gifts and abilities. Take a long, honest look at what you are good at and what you’re not good at.
– Make a list. Ask other people for their candid opinion. Tell them you’re searching for the truth, not fishing for a compliment.
– Ask questions like these: Where have I seen fruit in my life that other people confirmed? Where have I already been successful?

ย Let’s Talkย 
What has been your experience with serving beyond your capacity? How did you handle it, what did you do?

I always look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Amara ๐Ÿ’

Leave a comment